What is the Assembly?

The Assembly is part of the New York State Legislature. The Assembly has 150 members, who represent 150 different parts of New York State. These areas are called districts. (If you would like to see who represents your district, click here. You will need to know your zip code.)

The Assembly passes bills that affect people throughout the state of New York.

The Speaker of the Assembly is Carl E. Heastie. The Speaker makes all the committee assignments and appoints and directs the work of most of the Assembly staff.

The Assembly meets in Albany every year for a legislative session. The room where the Assembly meets is called the Assembly Chamber.