
IF 
YOU 
PAY 

RENT

Important Telephone 
Numbers

New York City Housing Authority 
(212) 306-3000

New York State Division of 
Housing and Community Renewal 

(866) ASK-DHCR (275-3427) 
DHCR Rent Infoline 

(718) 739-6400

New York City Citizen Service Center 
311 
or 

Outside New York City 
(212) NEW YORK (639-9675) 

TTY (212) 504-4115

Some things you 
should know...
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When must my landlord provide 
heat to my apartment?

From October 1 through May 31 your landlord must provide 
heat as follows: during the day (6 a.m. to 10 p.m.), if the tempera-
ture outside is below 55 degrees, your apartment must be heated 
to at least 68 degrees. At night, if the temperature outside is below 
40 degrees, your apartment must be heated to at least 55 degrees. 
If your landlord fails to provide heat or hot water, keep a detailed 
daily record of this lack of service. For lack of heat, be sure to 
record the temperature outside and inside. If your records are to 
be submitted as evidence of lack of service, be sure to keep copies 
for yourself.

What if my landlord doesn’t 
provide heat?

The law now allows tenants to purchase fuel for themselves 
when the landlord fails to provide heat. The amount paid by each 
tenant can then be deducted from the monthly rent payment. An 
application for rent reduction can be obtained from the NYS DHCR 
Office of Rent Administration. Be sure to follow the procedure set 
forth in the application.

How much security deposit do I 
need to give?

Security deposits of no more than one month’s rent may be 
retained by your landlord. In most cases, any additional security 

deposit taken by the landlord must be refunded. However, for some 
rent-stabilized tenants, if you deposited more than one month’s 
rent before the apartment became regulated, you may be required 
to maintain a greater security deposit. If your building has more 
than six apartments, the owner must place the security deposit in 
an interest-bearing account and pay interest at the prevailing rate 
minus a service charge of one percent of the security deposit.

Are there any special exemptions 
for senior citizens? 

Senior citizens may be eligible for rent increase exemptions. If 
you are at least 62 and pay more than one-third of your income for 
rent, you may be eligible for a rent increase exemption, depend-
ing on your income. Currently, your household income must be 
no more than $27,000 a year. This income amount includes social 
security benefits but not income and social security taxes. When 
you receive the exemption, in most cases you will not have to pay 
any further increases that raise your rent to more than one-third 
of your income. You must recertify the exemption every 2 years. 
Applications for the rent exemption are available at my community 
office and at most senior citizens centers. When it is time for ben-
efit renewal, the city should automatically mail you an application 
30 days in advance.

Individuals with disabilities who receive certain forms of State 
or Federal disability-related financial assistance may be eligible 
for a disability exemption (Disability Rent Increase Exemption-
DRIE). There are very specific eligibility requirements. For more 
information contact your housing authority or community office.

1163 Manor Avenue
Bronx, NY 10472

718-893-0202

Room 929
Legislative Office Bldg.

Albany, NY 12248
518-455-5514

crespom@assembly.state.ny.us

Courtesy of...

Assemblyman
Marcos A. Crespo

Assemblyman
Marcos A. Crespo

www.assembly.state.ny.us

Facts about 
Rent Stabilization & Control 

for NYC residents

Courtesy of...



If your apartment is 

Rent Controlled...

Rent Stabilized or Rent Controlled?

If your apartment is 

Rent Stabilized...
The guidelines are established annually and apply to 

leases entered into between October 1 and the following 
September 30. They provide increases for one or two year 
renewal. The Rent Stabilization Law provides a formula for 
calculating the rent for a vacancy lease. Special guidelines 
apply to apartments which were formerly rent controlled and 
are being rented to the first rent stabilized tenant. Special 
provisions are often made for loft dwelling units, low-rent 
units, rent-stabilized hotel units and other unusual circum-
stances. Please call your local DHCR District Rent Office 
for specific information on current guidelines.

Can I have a roommate?
You are legally entitled to have a roommate. You may 

share your apartment with a person who has not signed the 
lease. When you sign a lease, if you are the only named ten-
ant, you are entitled to share your apartment with immediate 
family, one additional occupant who is not a member of your 
immediate family and any dependent children of that occu-
pant. These provisions are applicable to all leases, regardless 
of any lease provisions to the contrary.

What are my rights when I 
renew my lease?

Except in limited cases, you have a right to have your 
lease renewed when it expires if you live in a rent-stabilized 
apartment. The landlord must offer to renew your lease 90 to 
150 days before it expires. You then have 60 days in which 
to accept. If the landlord is late in making the renewal offer, 
you have the right to remain in your apartment at the same 
rent until he/she has made an offer and you have had 60 days 
in which to respond. You have the right to renew your lease 
for one or two years, depending upon your preference.

When you renew, your new lease must be on the same 
terms and conditions as the previous lease, except for the 
rent increase. Leases signed after September 1975 cannot 
prohibit you from subletting, even if you are renewing a 
previous lease which contained such a provision. However, 
special procedures must be carefully followed if you wish to 
sublet your apartment. For more information about sublet-
ting, please call my community office.

What if I move into an 
apartment that used to be rent 
controlled?

If you are moving into an apartment that was previously 
covered by rent control, the landlord can charge the “mar-
ket” rent, but you may challenge the amount if you feel it 
is excessive. The appeal process is complex and you should 
consult your local DHCR District Rent Office about what 
procedure to follow.

How much is my rent?
The State places a limit on your apartment’s rent. Except in certain cases, the rent 

you are required to pay is officially referred to as the Maximum Collectible Rent (MCR). 
There may also be rent increases for improvements in your apartment (which you must 
approve), improvements to the building as a whole (which do not require your consent), 
labor cost increases and fuel cost increases. A rent-controlled apartment must be painted 
at the landlord’s expense at least once every three years. 

Can my landlord raise my rent?
Your rent may be increased by a maximum of 7.5% each year;  but should not ex-

ceed your Maximum Base Rent (MBR). The MBR is revised every two years to reflect 
increases in operating costs. Landlords will not be eligible for the MBR increase if they 
failed to remove 100% of all rent-impairing violations and 80% of all other violations 
on record six months before the effective date of the increase.

What if my landlord increases my rent?
If the above requirements are not being met and the landlord still receives authori-

zation for the MBR increase, you must challenge the increase within 35 days following 
receipt of the Order of Eligibility. Forms for this challenge are available at my community 
office and the DHCR District Rent Office.

Do not pay an increase unless you receive notification, including both a notice from 
your landlord and a copy of the Order of Eligibility sent to the landlord by the State. 
Check your landlord’s figures to be sure that your new rent (MCR) is not more than 7.5% 
higher than the previous rent, and also that the new rent is no higher than the rent ceil-
ing (MBR). If you are being overcharged, challenge the increase immediately. You are 
eligible to recover damages equal to three times the amount of any willful overcharge if 
you filed a complaint with the DHCR within two years of the overcharge.

What are “increased labor costs” and “fuel cost 
adjustment”?

Increased labor costs caused by labor contract settlements may result in the granting 
of rent increases for some rent-controlled apartments. These increases are in addition to 
the annual 7.5% increase.

A fuel cost adjustment is periodically approved by the State to cover the increased 
cost of fuel for rent-controlled apartments. These fuel surcharges are not incorporated 
into the rent when determining rent increases. If the price of fuels has decreased in the 
preceding year, your fuel surcharge should also decrease. Check with your DHCR District 
Rent Office to find out if a fuel surcharge has been approved for this year.

Tenants may pay the retroactive amount of a fuel surcharge all at once or one month 
at a time. Senior citizens with valid rent increase exemptions do not have to pay the in-
crease. If you wish to protest your fuel pass-along because you are being charged for too 
many rooms, or because you didn’t get heat last winter, pick up a “Tenant’s Challenge 
to Landlord’s Report and Certification of Fuel Cost Adjustment and Eligibility” form at 
your local DHCR District Rent Office.

Can I have a roommate?
You are legally entitled to have a roommate share your apartment even if he/she was 

not an original tenant in the apartment. You are entitled to share your apartment with 
immediate family, additional occupants who are not members of your immediate family, 
and any dependent children of those occupants.

Rent Controlled
Your apartment is probably rent controlled if your building 
was constructed before 1947, contains three or more apart-
ments, and you moved in before July 1, 1971, although 
there are exceptions.

Rent Stabilized
Your apartment is probably rent stabilized if your building 
contains at least six apartments and:

was constructed between 1947 and 1973, or
was built before 1947 and you moved in  
after June 30, 1971.

There is usually no rent stabilization for buildings con-
structed on or after January 1, 1974 unless the building 
has been assisted by tax exemption.

●

●

a)
b)

How can I find out if my 
apartment is rent stabilized 
or rent controlled?

You can file a form with the Division of Housing and 
Community Renewal (DHCR) District Rent Office to find 
out if your apartment is rent controlled and to confirm your 
legal rent. These forms, and assistance in filling them out, 
are available at my community office.

The DHCR administers the Rent Stabilization and Rent 
Control systems. Landlords are required to register the rents 
and services of all stabilized apartments with DHCR and 
serve a copy of the apartment’s registration statement to 
each tenant. To find out whether your apartment is rent sta-
bilized or rent controlled, contact your local DHCR District 
Rent Office.


