New York’s Tough Stalker Law

It's A Crime

For victims of a relentless stalker,
common everyday noises — the ring of
a phone or a knock at the door — can be
frightening. Left unchecked, “stalking”
or harassment cases sometimes escalate
into violence, even death.

Stalking is a crime that affects
people from all walks of life. While the
most publicized cases are those involving
celebrities, the most common victims
are ex-wives and girlfriends. According
to FBI statistics, over 30 percent of all
female murder victims are killed in in-
cidents of domestic violence. Many of
these victims were stalked or terrorized
before being murdered.

Taking a stalker off the streets may
help diffuse a volatile situation or give a
victim time to take steps to increase his or
her safety.

Victims of stalking, menacing and
harassment by family members may
go to family court as well as criminal
court. The law authorizes the courts to
order surrender of an abuser’s firearms
and revoke firearms licenses. New York
law also has stiff penalties for violating
orders of protection and requires courts
to consider domestic violence in child
custody and visitation cases.

Prosecutors can prosecute
more effectively iffbe stalking
or harassment 1s reported to
the police each time.

Penalties

Until recently, stalkers were criminals
only in the eyes of their victims. In the past,
victims were forced to seek protection un-
der harassment laws, the least severe offense.
Complaints to police were often futile since
harassment laws were rarely enforced and
carried minimal penalties. Sometimes, vic-
tims were told nothing could be done “un-
less a crime had been committed.”

That changed with the enactment of
New York’s Stalking Law, which establishes
the specific offense of stalking and allows
the prosecution of persons who engage in
an intentional course of threatening con-
duct. Courts can now impose severe pen-
alties against dangerous individuals found
guilty of this crime.

Categories of Stalking and Penalties

# A person who repeatedly threatens the
health, safety or property of a person, or
repeatedly contacts or follows a person after
being clearly told not to do so, faces up to
three months in jail.
¢ A person who engages in a course of
conduct that intentionally places another
person in fear of physical injury, death or
the commission of a sex offense, and any
stalker who stalks three or more persons or
has been previously convicted of stalking
within 10 years, faces up to a year in jail.
@ A person aged 21 or older who stalks a
child, and a person who, while displaying a
weapon, engages in a course of conduct that
intentionally places another person in fear
of physical injury, death or the commission
of a sex offense, is guilty of a felony and
faces up to four years in prison.
# A stalker who causes physical injury or
commits another specified crime while
stalking could face up to seven years in
prison.
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Important Phone
Numbers

National Domestic
Violence Hotline

(800) 799-SAFE
NYS Domestic & Sexual

Violence Hotline
English.............. (800) 942-6906
Spanish............. (800) 942-6908

Police or Ambulance
911

Emergencies for the
Hearing Impaired

New York Relay
Service
(800) 662-1220

Assemblyman
Marcos A. Crespo

www.assembly.state.ny.us
1163 Manor Avenue
Bronx, NY 10472
718-893-0202

Room 929 LOB
Albany, NY 12248
518-455-5514
crespom@assembly.state.ny.us
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“Domestic
violence is
a crime
that cannot
be ignored.”

“We are
committed
to helping
victims and

severely
punishing
abusers.”

New York State’s Domestic Violence Law
Protecting Women From Abuse

Domestic violence is a crime that has tragic consequences for all its victims. Violence is the number one public
health risk to women in the United States. To combat this alarming statistic, the Legislature passed the Fam-
ily Protection and Domestic Violence Act and other laws to stiffen penalties for domestic crimes and increase

protection for victims.

New York’s Law:

# requires police to arrest batter-
ers who violate “stay away” orders
of protection or commit a felony
or a misdemeanor against another
household or family member

# enables victims to bring their
cases to family and criminaﬁ:ourts
concurrently, instead of forcing
victims to choose between them
# provides for orders of protec-
tion for up to two years in most
cases and up to five years where
serious injury occurs, a weapon Is
used, there is a repeated offense, or
other aggravating circumstances
# requires violators face felony
charges when harassing or threat-
ening a victim during an order of
protection violation

# provides that, in the case of
repeated violations, including
threatening phone calls, faxes or e-
mail messages, violators could face
up to four years in prison (seven
years if a victim suffers physical
njury)

¢ requires criminal and family
courts issuing orders of protection
to revoke or suspend the abuser's
firearms license as well as take
away the weapon

¢ maintains a statewide Orders of
Protection Registry to aid police
and courts when taking action

# provides for training programs
to teach police officers, judges and
district attorneys how to iandle
domestic violence cases

# permits courts to order the
batterer to pay up to $10,000 resti-
tution to the victim

¢ allows courts to give orders of pro-
tection, even when the offender does
not reside in New York State, thus
giving victims who live or work in
New York protection

# requires courts to consider domes-
tic violence in child custody and visi-
tation cases

# restricts visitation/custody rights
of persons convicted of murdering
a cEiId’s arent or guardian, sibling
or half sigling unless the court finds
visitation is in the child’s best inter-
est or the convicted person proves the
murder was in response to domestic
violence

# authorizes issuing a temporary child
support order and order of protection
at the same time

# requires police to determine the
primary physical aggressor, so that
victims of domestic violence are not
inappropriately arrested along with
their abusers when more than one
person alleges violence

# enables a local criminal court to is-
sue a temporary order of protection,
or modify a temporary order of pro-
tection issued by a family court when
family and supreme court are not in
session

# ensures safety for victims of domes-
tic violence by promoting more rigor-
ous interstate enforcement of orders
of protection.

There is help

¢ For immediate assistance to protect
yourself, call the police. Give a complete
statement of what happened. Get the re-
porting officer’s name and badge number
as well as a copy of the police report.

& A victim’s rights notice is available
from the police, the courts and local hos-
pitals expEl)aining what police and courts
can do to help.

& You can go to Family Court and/or
Criminal Court to obtain an order of
protection.

& Contact your local domestic violence

program for support and information
about services, emergency shelters and

legal options.

For information
or help:

Domestic
Violence Hotline
(800) 942-6906
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Did you know?

New York State . . .

. four women a week are killed as the result of

domestic violence

. one person is victimized by domestic violence

In

every three minutes, 20 every hour, 432 each
day and 157,680 every year

the United States . . .

. almost four million women were physically

abused by their husbands or boyfriends last

year alone

. a woman is physically abused every nine

seconds

. domestic violence is the leading cause of

injury to women between the ages of 14-45
— more than car accidents, muggings and
rapes combined

. as many as 25% of all pregnant women

seeking pre-natal care are battered

. . thirty percent of murdered women are killed

by their intimate male partners each year

. each year, battering accounts for 25%

of female suicide attempts and 4,000
homicides

Source: NYS Office for Prevention of Domestic Violence



