



October 20, 2023

NEW YORK LEGISLATORS STAND WITH ISRAEL

The despicable sneak attack against the Israeli people is a war crime. The taking of hostages, the wholesale murder of civilians, the use of torture, the beating, mutilation and killing of captured soldiers and the parading of their bodies and the bodies of dead civilians through the streets of Gaza is a cruel, barbaric and brutal throwback to primitive times.

As we stand in solidarity with the Jewish state, we must confront the profound question of whether a free, liberal, and democratic nation can defeat a culture founded on tyranny. The answer is clear – we will win, the good people will win, as long as we stand together and united.

Nor is it Israel alone that is at risk. America, plagued by rising anti-Jewish hatred and rising hatred for "the other" is as well in danger. What is at stake is the very survival of democracy itself.

We are aware that those aligned with Hamas, Russia and Iran are doing their best to turn public opinion against Israel. This is the same tactic now used by proponents of tyranny and oppression to undermine American support for Ukraine. We will not allow this to happen on our watch.

We will continue to fight for democracy.

We will continue to stand with Israel.

Assemblymember Charles D. Lavine	Assemblymember Helene Weinstein
Assemblymember Steve Stern	Assemblymember Matthew Simpson
Assemblymember Chris Burdick	Senator George Borrello
Assemblymember Jeffrey Dinowitz	Assemblymember Chris Eachus
Senator James Skoufis	Assemblymember Edward Braunstein
Assemblymember Karl Brabenec	Assemblymember John T. McDonald III
Senator Jacob Ashby	Assemblymember Andrew Hevesi
Senator Dan Stec	Assemblymember Scott Bendett
Assemblymember Keith Brown	Assemblymember George Alvarez

Assemblymember Michael J. Norris Assemblymember Angelo J. Morinello Senator Robert G Ortt Assemblymember Monica Wallace Assemblymember Ari Brown Senator John Liu Assemblymember David Weprin Assemblymember Sam Pirozzolo Assemblymember Scott Gray Assemblymember Fred Thiele Assemblymember Doug Smith Assemblymember Deborah Glick Assemblymember Phil Steck Assemblymember Sam Berger Assemblymember Grace Lee Assemblymember Jonathan Jacobson Assemblymember Michael J. Fitzpatrick Assemblymember Jodi Giglio Assemblymember Lester Chang Assemblymember Vivian E. Cook Senator Simcha Felder Assemblymember Simcha Eichenstein Assemblymember Kenneth Burgos

Senator Anthony H. Palumbo Assemblymember John Zaccaro Assemblymember Brian Manktelow Assemblymember Rebecca Seawright Assemblymember Amy Paulin Assemblymember Jake Blumencranz Assemblymember Joseph Giglio Assemblymember Michael Benedetto Senator James N. Tedisco Assemblymember Gina Sillitti Assemblymember Kenneth Zebrowski Assemblymember Michaelle C. Solages Assemblymember Carrie Woerner Assemblymember Karen McMahon Assemblymember David McDonough Assemblymember Michael Novakhov Assemblymember Marjorie Byrnes Assemblymember Jeff Gallahan Senator Toby Ann Stavisky Assemblymember Dana Levenberg Assemblymember Stacey Pheffer Amato Assemblymember Al Taylor