November 9, 2016

Statement from Speaker Carl Heastie Announcing New Members of Growing Majority

Congratulations and welcome to the new members of the Assembly Majority Conference:

Anthony D'Urso, 16th Assembly District

Stacey Pheffer Amato, 23rd Assembly District

Brian Barnwell, 30th Assembly District

Clyde Vanel, 33rd Assembly District

Robert Carroll, 44th Assembly District

Tremaine Wright, 56th Assembly District

Yuh-Line Niou, 65th Assembly District

Inez Dickens, 70th Assembly District

Carmen N. de la Rosa, 72nd Assembly District

Billy Jones, 115th Assembly District

Monica Wallace, 143rd Assembly District

I am proud that we have been able to grow our majority to 107 members and our conference remains the most diverse legislative body in the country, including 41 women.

In the coming year, the Assembly Majority will continue to fight to secure our children's future by ensuring that schools are adequately funded and we will continue our historic progress that has opened the doors to an affordable college education. We will continue to fight for a future where workers have meaningful jobs and wages and where the health and well-being of our families is secure. And we will continue to work to restore New Yorkers' faith in our government.

The Assembly Majority has always stood at the forefront in promoting ideas that help hard working men and women climb the ladder of economic opportunity. We stand ready to lead New York in protecting and advocating for the rights of people from all walks of life.

Again, congratulations and welcome to the 11 new members of the Assembly Majority Conference and I look forward to a productive session in 2017.