NEW YORK STATE ASSEMBLY MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF LEGISLATION submitted in accordance with Assembly Rule III, Sec 1(f)
BILL NUMBER: A1141
TITLE OF BILL:
An act to amend the public health law, in relation to increasing the age
required to use ultraviolet radiation devices to twenty-one years of age
PURPOSE OR GENERAL IDEA OF BILL:
To reduce the risk of skin cancer by raising the minimum age to use UV
tanning beds from 18 to 21 years old.
SUMMARY OF PROVISIONS:
Section 1: Amends subdivision 2 of section 3555 of the public health
law to raise the minimum age to use tanning beds from 18 to 21 years.
Section 2: Effective date.
DIFFERENCE BETWEEN ORIGINAL AND AMENDED VERSION (IF APPLICABLE):
Click here to enter text.
Ultraviolet radiation from indoor tanning beds are a major contributing
factor to skin cancer for people who use tanning facilities. According
to statistics from the American Skin Care Foundation, more than 419,000
cases of skin cancer in the U.S. each year are linked to indoor tanning,
and more people develop skin cancer because of indoor tanning than
develop lung cancer because of smoking. The risks to younger users are
especially severe. The Skin Care Foundation found that people who first
use a tanning bed before age 35 increased their risk for melanoma by
750. Given the legislature's recent efforts to raise the age for other
dangerous activities such as smoking (S2833 of 2019), it is time to
raise the minimum age to use indoor tanning beds in order to keep the
next generation of New Yorkers safe from these carcinogenic products.
PRIOR LEGISLATIVE HISTORY:
2020 - S6825 Referred to Health / No Assembly Same-as
2022 - A08935 referred to health; S01873 referred to health
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS FOR STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:
This act shall take effect immediately.
STATE OF NEW YORK
2023-2024 Regular Sessions
January 13, 2023
Introduced by M. of A. McMAHON -- read once and referred to the Commit-
tee on Health
AN ACT to amend the public health law, in relation to increasing the age
required to use ultraviolet radiation devices to twenty-one years of
The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate and Assem-bly, do enact as follows:
1 Section 1. Subdivision 2 of section 3555 of the public health law, as
2 amended by chapter 194 of the laws of 2018, is amended to read as
4 2. No owner, operator, or employee of a tanning facility shall permit
5 the use of an ultraviolet radiation device by a person under [eighteen]
6 twenty-one years of age.
7 § 2. This act shall take effect immediately.
EXPLANATION--Matter in italics (underscored) is new; matter in brackets
 is old law to be omitted.