Assemblywoman Jean-Pierre Honors Local Women at 2019 Women of Distinction Awards

Assemblywoman Kimberly Jean-Pierre (D-Babylon) honored 21 extraordinary Long Island women at her 4th annual Women of Distinction Award ceremony, which was held on April 6 at Dominican Village in Amityville. The event recognizes local women for their remarkable achievements and tireless commitment to helping others.

“Our community is held together by successful, thoughtful and selfless women and celebrating them is a highlight for me every year,” Jean-Pierre said. “My Women of Distinction Awards honor those who work tirelessly to lift up their communities and go above and beyond to make Long Island a better place for all our families.”

The well-attended brunch event was kicked off with a special Color Guard posting by Boy Scout Troop 284 of Copiague and the singing of the National Anthem by Lindenhurst High School student Nicole Harvey. A beautiful rendition of the Negro Anthem “Lift Every Voice and Sing” was performed by Amityville High School student Keiry Martinez. In addition, the brunch featured musical performances by the Half Hollow Hills East High School “Acoushchicks” and Ultimate Sweat Zona, as well as special greetings from Renee Flagler, Executive Director of Girls Inc. and Yashika Stewart, CEO of Beautifully Unique Inc. An invocation was given by Pastora Zulema Ventura of Iglesia Centro de Restauracion Familiar “Oil and Wine” in Copiague and Minister Lynn Davis from the Family and Community Empowerment Center in Wyandanch gave the benediction.

The 2019 Women of Distinction were recognized for their invaluable contributions in fields such as business, community service and volunteerism, education, health care and law enforcement. Honorees included Barbara Collie, Beata Szczech, Charvon Davis Pierce, Cindy O’Pharrow, Delfina Hennep, Dorothy Santana, Elizabeth Gonzalez, Fatima Peña, Gerry Compitello, Indiana Bumpers, Karyn Kemp-Smith, Kerry Gillick-Goldberg, Lady LaPrena Shelton, Lasheca Lewis, Michele P. Butler, Monica Price, Rita Mullins, Servia Iris Familia and Valarie St. Bernard. Two outstanding students, Brenda Reyes and Olivia Price, were also honored.

Jean-Pierre also announced the winner and finalists of her 2019 Women’s History Month Art Contest for local elementary school students. This year’s winner is Brie Suares, a student at Copiague Union Free School District, for her drawing of Shirley Chisolm. The finalists include Kaylee Nguyen, a Deer Park Union Free School District student, for her drawing of Judith Heumann; Madeline Ramirez, a student at North Babylon Union Free School District, for her drawing of Rosa Parks; Jennifer Soto Arroyo, a student at Lindenhurst Union Free School District, for her drawing of Eleanor Roosevelt; and John Novarro Keneth, a student at Wyandanch Union Free School District, for his drawing of Amelia Earhart.

This year’s Women of Distinction event would not have been possible without the generous support of local sponsors, including 7-Eleven, Bethpage Federal Credit Union, Eleanor’s Legacy, Boulevard Home Care Associates, Christina’s Sweet Treats, Beautifully Unique, Inc., The Macon Realty, JMW Home Fitness, Fidelis Care, Tanika’s Eats, and the Dominican Village Long Island Assisted Living Community.