Jean-Pierre Elected Chair of NYS Legislative Women’s Caucus

Albany, NY – On Wednesday, June 9th, 2021, members of the Legislative Women’s Caucus of New York State elected Assemblywoman Kimberly Jean-Pierre (D-Wheatley Heights) as Chair for the 2021-22 term. The Caucus is an organization of elected women members of the New York State Legislature. Today, the Caucus is comprised of a record total of 73 women legislators, including 55 women serving in the Assembly and 18 women serving in the Senate.

“Throughout history, women have played an integral role in government, and being elected Chair of the Legislative Women’s Caucus by my colleagues provides me an opportunity to better promote women’s issues and improve the participation of women in all areas of government and life,” said Jean-Pierre. “I look forward to working with my colleagues in the Caucus as well as women leaders in my community and throughout New York State in moving forward and addressing 21st Century issues impacting women and girls across our great state.”

Assemblywoman Kimberly Jean-Pierre was elected to the Assembly in 2014, succeeding Assemblyman Bob Sweeney after he served the 11th Assembly District for 26 years. Prior to her election, she was employed by the Suffolk County Legislature and former Congressman Steve Israel and served as Director of the Town of Babylon’s Wyandanch Community Resource Center.

The New York State Legislative Women’s Caucus (LWC) is a unique, bipartisan and bicameral organization which was founded in 1983 for all women elected to the New York State Legislature. The LWC serves as a resource for its members, providing networking opportunities, support and various information. The Caucus facilitates an annual Women’s History Month display in the Capitol and traditionally holds events with other women partners throughout state government, including commissioners, executive officials and female leaders within the SUNY and CUNY higher education systems.

Over the decades, women legislators through the LWC have advocated for a range of policies that promote equity and inclusivity for women, as well as increased resources for women, children and families throughout New York State. As a bipartisan caucus, the LWC focuses on issues which are embraced by all of its members.

Other officers elected to leadership positions within the Caucus include Assemblymember Carrie Woerner as First Vice-Chair, Assemblymember Mary Beth Walsh as Second Vice-Chair, Assemblymember Karines Reyes as Secretary, Senator Toby Ann Stavisky as Treasurer, and elected Directors include Assemblymembers Marjorie Byrnes, Sarah Clark, Patricia Fahy, Jodi Giglio, Jessica Gonzalez-Rojas, Anna Kelles, Karen McMahon, Missy Miller, Jenifer Rajkumar, Linda Rosenthal, Rebecca Seawright, Stefani Zinerman, Anna Kelles and Senator Rachel May.