A/M Yuh-Line Niou, Colleagues, Send Letter to Dept. of Education Pushing for School at Essex Crossing

November 16, 2017

Assemblymember Yuh-Line wrote the following letter to the Department of Education and School Construction Authority pushing for the construction of a school at Essex Crossing on the Lower East Side.

November 16, 2017

Chancellor Carmen Fariña
New York City Department of Education
Tweed Courthouse
52 Chambers Street
New York, NY 10007

President Lorraine Grillo
New York City School Construction Authority
30-30 Thomson Avenue
Long Island City, NY 11101

Dear Chancellor Fariña and President Grillo:

We write regarding the construction of a school at Essex Crossing, at the site known as the Seward Park Urban Renewal Area (SPURA) on the Lower East Side.

As part of the SPURA negotiations, the City of New York came to an agreement requiring the developer to reserve a lot for the construction of a school. Given the close proximity of families moving into Essex Crossing, and the Lower East Side’s need for school seats, we request that your agencies amend the current 2015-2019 DOE capital plan to include the construction of this school.

In previous correspondence on the SPURA school (see attached), DOE recognized that existing schools may not be able to meet the demand created by new families moving into Essex Crossing. According to construction timelines, Essex Crossing is expected to bring dozens of families to the Lower East Side in a few months, with units coming live by summer 2018. It is critical that your agencies act to prevent overcrowding in our local schools, as we’ve seen in other areas of lower Manhattan.

We request a meeting with your agencies, the Essex Crossing developers and Community Board 3 to discuss the construction of the SPURA school. To schedule this meeting, please contact Assemblymember Yuh-Line Niou at 212-312-1420 or niouy@nyassembly.gov.


Yuh-Line Niou, Assemblymember
Nydia Velazquez, Congressmember
Carolyn Maloney, Congressmember
Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Brian Kavanagh, Assemblymember and State Senator-elect
Margaret Chin, Councilmember
Carlina Rivera, Councilmember-elect