What Is The New York State Assembly?

The Assembly is part of the New York State Legislature. The Assembly has 150 members, who represent 150 different parts of New York State. These areas are called districts.

The Assembly passes bills and enacts laws that help people throughout the state of New York.

The Assembly meets in Albany every year for a legislative session. The room where the Assembly meets is called the Assembly Chamber – located in the New York State Capitol.

Assemblywoman Aileen M. Gunther

Courtesy of Assemblywoman
Aileen M. Gunther

18 Anawana Lake Road • Monticello, New York 12701
845-794-5807 • gunthea@assembly.state.ny.us

  • Over 1,500,000 gallons of water per second go over Niagara Falls, which is one of the biggest waterfalls in the world.

  • New York State has 62 counties and 62 cities, but there isn’t a city in every county.

  • New York has over 70,000 miles of rivers and streams.

  • The Hudson River is the state’s longest river at 306 miles.

  • The first election for governor took place between Philip Schuyler and George Clinton in 1777. Clinton won and served as governor for the next 18 years.

  • Albany became the state capital in 1797. Kingston was the first capital, from 1777 until 1797.

  • Adirondack Park is larger than Yellowstone, Yosemite, Grand Canyon, and Glacier parks combined.


The words below are all scrambled up. After reading these fun facts, can you figure them out?


The following words are hiding in this puzzle:

Capitol, Assembly, Bill, Law, Speaker, Beaver, Sugar Maple, Bluebird, Ladybugs, Rose, Bass

Answers: 1. garnet 2. trout 3. Albany 4. Adirondacks 5. scorpion 6. Assembly 7. Yonkers 8. Westchester 9. Bay Scallop 10. snapping turtle

Click here for a printable version of the Activity Sheet